Skip to content

Jameer Nelson Wins 2012-13 DeVos Community Enrichment Award

2013 March 25
by Brian Serra

Thanksgiving at the Coalition Jameer and Maurice serving_GSB2034

The Orlando Magic recently announced that Jameer Nelson was named winner of the 2012-2013 Rich & Helen DeVos Community Enrichment Award (CEA) Saturday night at the 23rd Annual Orlando Magic Youth Foundation (OMYF) Black Tie & Tennies Gala presented by FAIRWINDS Credit Union held at the Amway Center. This marks the first time Nelson has won the award. The other finalist for the award included Glen Davis.

Each year at the Gala, the OMYF honors a player who has dedicated his efforts off the court for the purpose of enhancing other’s lives. A panel of external representatives selects the player. In addition to receiving the award, Nelson will be granted $50,000 from the Richard and Helen DeVos Foundation to donate to the charity of his choice.

Nelson has consistently volunteered his time off the court and to the Central Florida community supporting the initiatives of the Magic’s community relations department, the Orlando Magic Youth Foundation and the NBA. Highlights of his community involvement for the 2012-13 season include:

  • Helped feed more than 600 homeless men, women and children at the Magic’s Thanksgiving breakfast at the Coalition for the Homeless.
  • Hosted a surprise event and provided holiday gifts for two local families of six affiliated with OCPS Homeless Division. Gifts for each family included laptops, cell phones, Nintendo DS system, games, toys, and gift cards for both families to purchase essential needs.
  • Participated in pregame meet n’ greets with terminally ill children.
  • Works with After School All-Stars in promoting comprehensive after school programs which assist disadvantaged youth in the community.
  • Participated in the Player Ticket Program by purchasing more than 600 tickets for children at Elevate Orlando to attend Magic home games.

Past winners of the award include Nick Anderson (1995-1996), Penny Hardaway (1996-1997), Darrell Armstrong (1997-1998, 1999-2000), Grant Hill (2000-2001), Monty Williams (2001-2002), Tracy McGrady (2002-2003), Pat Garrity (2003-2004), Bo Outlaw (1998-1999, 2005-2006, 2006-2007), Dwight Howard (2004-05, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12) and J.J. Redick (2011-12).

Earlier this year, the Orlando Magic Youth Fund, a McCormick Foundation Fund (OMYF-MFF), presented checks totaling more than $1 million to 17 grantee organizations for the third consecutive year. The organizations were also recognized at halftime of the Thursday, January 24 Magic versus Raptors matchup.

***Join Magic Basketball Online on Twitter and Facebook!***

Powered by

Leave a Reply