Skip to content

Orlando Pro Summer League Officially Announced

2014 May 22
by Adam Papageorgiou


While a lot of NBA attention is on the June 26th Draft, today came the official announcement for the return of the Orlando Pro Summer League that will be presented by Southwest Airlines July 5th-11th. There will be 10 NBA teams – including your Orlando Magic – that will participate in 5 games over the 7-day period. No team will have to play 3 consecutive games this year, which will ease injury and fatigue worries. The other teams joining the Magic  are the Boston Celtics, Brooklyn Nets, Detroit Pistons, Houston Rockets, Indiana Pacers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Oklahoma City Thunder, and Philadelphia 76ers.

Orlando plays Philadelphia Saturday July 5th at 1 p.m., the Houston Rockets on Monday July 7th at 5 p.m., the Memphis Grizzlies on Tuesday July 8th at 3 p.m., and the Boston Celtics on Thursday July 10th at 5 p.m. Friday July 11th is ‘Championship Day’ as the seeds will be determined at that instance by points accumulated leading up to the finale.

Just like in previous years, NBA TV will broadcast every game and the event will be closed to the public. All 25 games will take place at Amway Center’s practice court.

Below is the entire July 5th-11th Summer League schedule as well as the rules and returning points system.

Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer League Schedule

Saturday, July 5

1st game                      9:00 a.m.         Brooklyn                      @        Indiana

2nd game                     11:00 a.m.       OKC                            @        Boston

3rd game                      1:00 p.m.         Orlando                       @        Philadelphia

4th game                      3:00 p.m.         Detroit                         @        Houston

5th game                      5:00 p.m.         Memphis                     @        Miami

Sunday, July 6

1st game                      3:00 p.m.         Memphis                     @        Detroit

2nd game                     5:00 p.m.         Philadelphia                 @        OKC

3rd game                      7:00 p.m.         Miami                          @        Brooklyn

Monday, July 7

1st game                      3:00 p.m.         Indiana                        @        Boston

2nd game                     5:00 p.m.         Houston                       @        Orlando

3rd game                      7:00 p.m.         OKC                            @        Brooklyn


Tuesday, July 8

1st game                      3:00 p.m.         Orlando                       @        Memphis

2nd game                     5:00 p.m.         Miami                          @        Detroit

3rd game                      7:00 p.m.         Houston                       @        Philadelphia


Wednesday, July 9

1st game                      3:00 p.m.         Indiana                        @        OKC

2nd game                     5:00 p.m.         Philadelphia                 @        Brooklyn

3rd game                      7:00 p.m.         Boston                         @        Detroit


Thursday, July 10

1st game                      3:00 p.m.         Indiana                        @        Miami

2nd game                     5:00 p.m.         Boston                         @        Orlando

3rd game                      7:00 p.m.         Memphis                     @        Houston


Friday, July 11, 2014 *Championship Day*

1st game                      8:00 a.m.         6th place                      @        5th place

2nd game                     10:00 a.m.       4th place                      @        3rd place

3rd game                      12:00 p.m.       2nd place                     @        1st place

4th game                      2:00 p.m.         8th place                      @        7th place

5th game                      4:00 p.m.         10th place                    @        9th place



  •          Four 10-minute quarters
  •          10-minute halftime
  •          Five full timeouts per team per game
  •          Two one-minute mandatory TV timeouts per quarter on dead ball at 5:59 and again at 2:59
  •          Maximum of three full timeouts to be used in 4th quarter per team
  •          One :20 second timeout per team per half
  •          Three-minute overtime period if necessary
  •          One full timeout and one :20 second per overtime period per team
  •          Teams will be in the penalty on the 5th team foul of each quarter
  •          Teams will be in the penalty in overtime on the 3rd team foul
  •          No foul-out rule – for each personal foul in excess of six, the opposing team receives two free throws.  For each personal foul in excess of 10, the opposing team receives two free throws and the ball.
  •          10-minute warm-up/intermission between games



  •          Each team will play five games over the seven-day event
  •          Standings will be kept over the first six days of the league according to a point system (described below)
  •          Every team will play their fifth and final game against the opponent seeded most closely to them in the standings

-For example, the two teams with the highest point totals will play in the Championship game; the teams with the third and fourth-highest point totals play in a third place game, etc.



  •          Standings over the first six days of the league will be kept using an EIGHT-POINT SYSTEM. In this system, eight points are awarded each game and distributed as follows:

-Four points for winning the game

-One point for every quarter a team wins (in the event of a tied quarter, both teams will receive 0.5 points)

  •          As a result, the winning team in each game can collect between five to eight points, while the losing team can collect from zero to three points.



  •          Day seven Championship seeding will be determined by a team’s total points in the league standings
  •          In the event of a tie, the following tie-breaker steps will be in place:

Tiebreaker 1:               Total point differential

Tiebreaker 2:               Total points allowed

Tiebreaker 3:               Coin flip



Adam Papageorgiou runs Orlando Magic Greek and is a proud MBO contributor. 

Powered by

Leave a Reply